Partners Blog Contact Us

Using the VidyoConnect for Desktop Whiteboard Feature

Follow

A whiteboard is an important collaboration tool that helps meeting participants visualize concepts and ideas. Starting with version 18.1.0, the VidyoConnect desktop application offers a whiteboard feature. This article explains how to use this feature. In addition, if you would like a Whiteboard Quick Reference Card that you can view and share, see the How Do I Whiteboard in a VidyoConnect Meeting? article. 

 

As of version 18.1.0, WebRTC users can view whiteboards; however, they cannot annotate on them or share them. Support for whiteboard annotation and sharing for WebRTC users will be announced as it becomes available.

 

To use the whiteboard feature:

  1. When you are in a video call, click the whiteboardbutton.jpg button on the toolbar at the bottom of the VidyoConnect window.
    The Whiteboard annotation window appears.

    whiteboardannotationwindow.jpg

    If another participant in the call is already sharing a whiteboard, a message indicates that you cannot share until the currently shared whiteboard is closed. If this occurs, simply click the X button to close the Whiteboard annotation window.

  2. Click Share.
    A blank whiteboard appears. You are now the owner of the whiteboard, which means that you can now accept or deny requests to annotate on this whiteboard.

    BlankWhiteboard.jpg

  3. Refer to the following table for the list of actions you can take using the whiteboard:


    Click this... To do this...
    IconCursor.bmp Select an item on the whiteboard. You can then scale it, move it, or rotate it. If you want to copy or delete an item, you must select it using this button.
    IconText.bmp

    Add text to the whiteboard. The default text is 14 point regular. To change the default:

    • Click IconBold.jpg to make the text bold.
    • Click IconItalics.jpg to make the text italics.
    • Click IconStrikethrough.jpg to strike through the text.
    • Click IconFontSize.jpg to change the font size.
    IconSquiggle.jpg

    Draw one of these types of lines:

    • Click IconSquiggle.jpg to draw a curved line. 
    • Click IconArrow.bmp to draw an arrow. 
    • Click IconLine.jpg to draw a straight line. 
    IconSquare.jpg

    Draw one of these types of shapes:

    • Click IconSquare.jpg to draw a square shape.
    • Click IconShape.bmp to draw a circular shape.
    • Click IconTriangle.jpg to draw a triangular shape.
    IconBorderLine.jpg Select the fill color of your shape. The default is no color.
    IconShape.jpg Select the stroke color of your line or the border color of your shape. The default is black.
    IconUndo.bmp Undo the last action that you took. Continue clicking to keep undoing your last actions. The button is grayed out if there is nothing to undo.
    IconRedo.jpg Redo the last Undo action you took. Continue clicking to keep redoing your last Undo actions. The button is grayed out if there is nothing to redo.
    IconTrash.jpg Delete an item or items. Before you can delete, you must first select the item or items using the IconCursor.bmp button.
    IconCopy.bmp Copy an item. Before you can copy, you must first select the item using the IconCursor.bmp button.
    IconPaste.bmp Paste an item. Before you can paste, you must first copy an item using the IconCopy.bmp button.
    IconAddPage.bmp

    Open the Pages panel on the left side of the whiteboard. This panel displays all the whiteboard pages from the current call, with the currently shared whiteboard highlighted. From the Pages panel, you can:

    • Click IconPlus.jpg to add another whiteboard page.
    • Click IconDeleteWhiteboard.jpg to delete the highlighted whiteboard page.
    • Click on the "Untitled" name below the whiteboard page, and then enter a name for the whiteboard.
      The name that appears at the bottom center of the actual whiteboard will update to match the name you enter on the Pages panel.
    • Rearrange the order of the whiteboard pages by dragging and dropping. 

    Note that you can also open the Pages panel by clicking IconPagesPanel.jpg on the left side of the whiteboard. 

    IconUndock.bmp Undock the whiteboard from the VidyoConnect window. If you want to dock the whiteboard again, click IconDock.jpg on the whiteboard window.
    IconZoomOut.bmp Zoom out on the whiteboard. The zoom percentage shown on the screen changes as you zoom in or out. You can zoom out to a maximum of 300% and zoom in to a minimum of 100%. Any user can zoom in, zoom out, or move the canvas without affecting the other participants' view.
    IconZoomIn.bmp Zoom in on the whiteboard. The zoom percentage shown on the screen changes as you zoom in or out. You can zoom out to a maximum of 300% and zoom in to a minimum of 100%. Any user can zoom in, zoom out, or move the canvas without affecting the other participants' view.
    IconMove.bmp Move the canvas along with the objects drawn on it. This button is enabled only after you click IconZoomIn.bmp. Any user can zoom in, zoom out, or move the canvas without affecting the other participants' view.
    IconRequestAccess.bmp Request access to the currently shared whiteboard. This icon appears only when you are not the current owner of the whiteboard as shown here:

                participantview_callout.jpg   

    For more information, see Step 4 below.


  4. If a participant in the conference would like to make annotations on the whiteboard, they can request access from you, the owner, by clicking IconRequestAccess.bmp. When they do so, you will see a pop-up like this:

    RequestAnnotation.jpg

    Click Allow to allow the participant to annotate on the whiteboard or click Deny to prevent the participant from annotating on the whiteboard.
    • Allowing a participant to annotate on your whiteboard does not make them the owner.
    • Only one person can make annotations at a time.
    • As the owner, you will see an Allow/Deny pop-up for every request, and those pop-ups will remain on-screen until you click either Allow or Deny.
    • When you allow annotation, the name of the current annotator appears in a button Usernameisannotating.jpg at the bottom-right of the annotation. You can click RequestAnnotation.jpg to withdraw annotation access from that user so that you can annotate again or allow another participant to annotate.
    • While another participant is annotating, you can still zoom, move, save, or close the whiteboard.
    • WebRTC users cannot annotate or share whiteboards. However, they can still see the whiteboards and the annotations made by other participants.
  5. Do one of the following when you are done annotating on the whiteboard: 
    • Click IconDownload.bmp if you want to save and download the whiteboard.
      The following pop-up appears:

      SaveFile.jpg

      Enter the file name, select the format (JPG, PNG, or PDF), and then click Save to save the whiteboard file to the location displayed.

    • Click IconCloseWhiteboard.jpg if you don't want to save the whiteboard.
      The following pop-up appears:

      CloseWhiteboard.jpg

      Click Close whiteboard to close the whiteboard without saving it.

If the whiteboard owner drops from the call because of connection issues:

  • Their whiteboard is automatically saved to their desktop in PNG format. If that owner had more than one whiteboard page, all the pages will be zipped as PNG files and saved to their desktop.
  • If the whiteboard owner was annotating when they dropped from the call, the first participant who sends an annotation request becomes the new owner (until the previous owner returns to the call).
  • If another participant was annotating when the whiteboard owner dropped from the call, that participant becomes the new owner (until the previous owner returns to the call). 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.