Partners Blog Contact Us

Certificates Received From Your Certificate Authority


Most CAs instantly send certificates and returns at least a domain (server) certificate and may return a root and one or more intermediate certificates in separate files. However, some authorities may provide the certificate data in a single email. You must copy the certificate data from the email into separate, respective files.


When selecting the certificate type from your CA, be sure to select Apache2 or Tomcat.

Your certificate authority may provide three types of files:

  1. The domain certificate file. This is often named or titled server certificate.

  2. One or more intermediate certificate files. This is optional.

  3. The root certificate file.

Again, the certificate authority may send you these files, or require you to download them from their website. Often, the certificates are not clearly identified, requiring you to identify each file type.

As mentioned, if your certificate authority provides certificate files in an email message, you must copy and paste the appropriate text for each certificate type into a separate file and save it with the correct extension, as described in the next section. Be sure to use a text editor that doesn’t append carriage returns at the end of each line.

Vidyo recommends the following guidelines to identify certificate files from your CA:

  • The domain file normally contains your server’s common name or FQDN.
  • Intermediate files often contain the character string “inter” somewhere in the file name. Once you identify which ones are the intermediates, you can then identify the root certificate file by process of elimination.
  • The remaining file is the CA’s root certificate file.

The CA may also only return the domain (server) certificate, and if needed or required, the root and intermediate certificates need to be located, and manually downloaded from the CA’s website.

If the root and intermediate certificates were not provided to you, your Vidyo server includes a default bundle of common CA root and intermediate certificates. If you are using a mainstream CA, the root and intermediate certificates may not be needed.


Some CAs have several root and intermediate certificates available depending on the type of certificate you have ordered. Be sure to locate the appropriate matching root and intermediate certificates for your domain certificate. Contact your CA for assistance if you’re not sure.

CAs provide different kinds of certificate files to customers. Regardless, the following certificates should be a part of what your CA provides to you:

  • Domain Certificate (may have a .domain, .crt, or .cer extension).
  • Intermediate Certificate(s) (optional, may be one or more, and may have an .inter, .crt, or .cer extension).
  • A Root Certificate (may have a .root, .crt, or .cer extension).
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.