As the administrator, you can add yourself and others as users. You can add different types of users such as Admins, Normal users, Executive users, and other user types as described in this article.

To add a new user:

  1. Log in to the Admin portal using your Admin account.

    For more information, see Logging in to the Admin interface.

    The Users page displays by default.

  2. Click Add User at the bottom of the page.

    The Add User: New User pop-up displays.

    Adding_New_Users_1.png

  3. Select one of the following options from the User Type drop-down:
      • Select Admin to provide the new user with administrative privileges and capabilities.

      • Select Operator to provide the user with the ability to manage users and meeting rooms. The operator has the same rights as the administrator except an operator cannot change any system settings or manage groups.

      • Select Normal to provide the user with the ability to join meetings, control their own meetings, and place direct calls. Normal users can also change their passwords, set their PIN codes, and invite guests, unless the administrator has disabled these capabilities.

      • Select VidyoRoom to create an account for a physical Vidyo® endpoint appliance. A VidyoRoom™ has the same rights as a normal user.

    • Select Executive to create Executive Desktop users. Executive Desktop licenses are a feature of the standard VidyoLines™ licensing model; however, Executive Desktop licenses are purchases as separate licenses in your VidyoLines package. Each Executive Desktop has guaranteed system access. Therefore, if you purchase 100 VidyoLines and five Executive Desktops, then even when your system is at full capacity, your five users with Executive Desktop privileges can still make calls.

  4. Enter information into the following required fields:
    • Enter a user name, which is the name the user provides when logging in to the system, in the User Name field.

      The user name must be alphanumeric, and it cannot contain any spaces or punctuation except for the @ sign, periods, underscores, or dashes. The maximum length is 80 characters. If your intended entry has already been taken, you are prompted to select a different name.

    • Enter a password in the Password and Verify Password fields.

      You must enter the password two times to set it. Users may change their own passwords later. Like the user name, the password also has a maximum length of 40 characters, but there is no limitation regarding which characters you can use.

    • Enter a display name for the user you are adding in the Display Name field.

      For VidyoRoom systems, the display name is the system name set by the administrator and the name that displays in the top-left corner of the home page. For VidyoDesktop™ systems, the users' display name appears below their video images when they are in a conference using VidyoDesktop, and it also appears on the Participants List.

    • Enter a valid email address for the user in the E-Mail Address field.

      This is the address to which the new account email is sent. If notifications are enabled and a user's email address is not set correctly, the user may not be able to use the Forgot Password function.

    • Enter the numeric extension you want associated with the user in the Extension field.

      This value must be unique for each user. If your intended entry has already been taken, you'll be prompted to select a different extension.

    • Select either the default group or another group you have created in the Group field.

      Changing the group may change the maximum number of users and the bandwidth allowed for the user's personal meeting room. The groups must be defined before you can assign users to them. For more information about groups, contact Vidyo Support.

    • Select either the default proxy or another proxy you have created in the Proxy field.

      You must define proxies before assigning them. For more information about proxies, contact Vidyo Support.

    • Select the user's location tag from the Location Tag drop-down.

      For more information, contact Vidyo Support.

    • Select the language for the specific user you are adding in the Language Preference field.

      Select System Language to apply the currently selected system-wide language (for more information, see Setting the system language). Otherwise, select any other language to change the language for this specific user only.

    • Deselect the Allowed to log in to user portal checkbox if you want to disable the user’s ability to log in to the User portal, or leave selected.

      Normal users are required to log in, but Administrators and Operators may not be required to log in.

    • Leave the Status checkbox selected to enable the new user’s room.

    • Deselect the Status checkbox if you want to put a user on hold with all of their information intact. When this checkbox is selected, the user does not show up in searches in the VidyoPortal and is not able to log in.

  5. Select the Additional Information checkbox if you want to enter additional information about the new user in the following fields:

    Adding_New_Users_2.png

    • Enter a primary phone number for the new user in the Phone Number 1 field if necessary.

    • Enter a secondary phone number for the new user in the Phone Number 2 field if necessary.

    • Enter a tertiary phone number for the new user in the Phone Number 3 field if necessary.

    • Enter the department that the new user is associated with in the Department field if necessary.

    • Enter the new user's title in the Title field if necessary.

    • Enter a primary location (e.g., New York Office) for the new user in the Location field.

    • Enter an IM address for the new user in the IM field if necessary.

    • Enter any details or data regarding the user in the Description field if necessary.

  6. Click Save.
    • If information is missing, incorrect, or already in the system, an error message displays at the top of the page indicating which field must be addressed.
    • When all required fields are complete and valid, the data is saved to the database, the main table is displayed, and a success message is displayed at the top of the page.

  7. Repeat the steps in this procedure for every user you want to add.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

0 Comments

Follow
Please sign in to leave a comment.