Partners Blog Contact Us

Updating the Firmware and Using Write Protection Mode

Follow

Updating the Firmware

The VidyoRoom Admin UI Firmware tab enables you to upload a new image file or a new certificate file to the VidyoRoom or VidyoPanorama 600 local disk. Normally, the client installer is downloaded from the VidyoPortal to the VidyoRoom or VidyoPanorama 600; however, you can use the Firmware tab as another option for uploading the client. This is useful when the VidyoPortal does not have a client installer file available or when the VidyoPortal version does not support uploading the client.

Configuring Your Internet Explorer Settings

Please do the following prior to uploading an image or client installer file if accessing the Admin UI via your Internet Explorer browser:

  1. Navigate to Internet Options > Advanced > Security.

  2. Ensure that the Enable SmartScreen Filter and Send Do Not Track requests to sites you visit in Internet Explorer* checkboxes are selected.

  3. Click OK.

    UpdatingFirmware_1.png

  4. Navigate to Internet Options > Connections.

  5. Click the LAN Settings button.

    The Local Area Network (LAN) Settings pop-up displays.

  6. Ensure that the Automatically detect settings, Use automatic configuratin script, and Use a proxy server for your LAN (These settings will not apply to dial-up or VPN connections) checkboxes are deslected.

  7. Click OK.

    UpdatingFirmware_2.png

Performing the Firmware Update

Once you have uploaded an image file, you can also use the Firmware tab to update the image. Alternatively, you can re-image the system using the Recovery Console. However, using the Firmware tab is generally preferable because you can perform the upgrade remotely and while the system is running. For more information about the Recovery Console, see the Using the VidyoRoom Recovery Console article.

Please read the following important notices before you begin the update:

Caution: Starting with VidyoRoom or VidyoPanorama 600 version 3.2.5, five days after uploading a new image, that image automatically becomes the factory default base image the system reverts to when using the “Restore to Factory Image” feature. Therefore, if you perform a factory restore within five days of applying a new image for the VidyoRoom or VidyoPanorama 600, it will revert back to the image that was originally on the system. If you perform a factory restore after five days, it will revert to the last image uploaded for that VidyoRoom or VidyoPanorama 600.

Notes: If you are using an Iron Bow vCLINiC, you must upload the image using a wired connection. If you try to perform an image upload via WiFi, the upload may take a very long time and/or it may be interrupted, which would require you to restart the upload. For more info about the Iron Bow vCLINiC, see the About the Iron Bow vCLINiC (Powered by Vidyo) article on the Vidyo Help Center.

Additionally, in order to upload an image file for VidyoRoom systems other than the vCLINiC, Write Protection Mode must be disabled. For more information about Write Protection Mode, see step 7 below as well as the Using Write Protection Mode section.

 

To update the firmware:

  1. Click the Firmware tab.

    UpdatingFirmware_3.png

  2. Click the blue triangle next to the word Update if necessary.

  3. Update the image or delete the image file that has been uploaded to the local disk if necessary:
    • Select the checkbox next to the file you want to update or delete if there is more than one image file listed.
    • Click either Update to update the image or click Delete to delete the file from the local disk.

  4. Click Restore to Factory Image if you want to restore the VidyoRoom system to the factory image.

    Please read the caution on the previous page if you are performing a factory restore after installing the Vidyo image file.



  5. Upload a new image file if necessary:
    • Click Choose File and choose the image file that you want to upload.
    • Click Upload.
  6. Select 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, or 24 from the Hours Between Commits drop-down to specify the number of commits per day when the Splunk forwarder is not enabled.

    The Hours Between Commits drop-down does not appear when the Splunk forwarder is enabled in the Logs > Splunk Forwarder section. 


    Here are examples of the time intervals when the following values are selected:
    • 1: A commit takes place every hour. For example, 1:15, 2:15, 3:15, etc.
    • 2: A commit takes place every two hours. For example, 2:15, 4:15, 6:15, etc.
    • 3: A commit takes place every three hours. For example, 3:15, 6:15, 9:15, etc.
    • 4: A commit takes place every four hours. For example, 4:15, 8:15, 12:15, etc.
    • 6: A commit takes place every six hours. For example, 6:15, 12:15, 18:15, etc.
    • 8: A commit takes place every eight hours. For example, 8:15, 16:15, 0:15, etc.
    • 12: A commit takes place every 12 hours. For example, 12:15, 0:15, etc.
    • 24: A commit takes place every 24 hours. For example, 0:15.
    The Hours Between Commits drop-down is inactive when Write Protection Mode is enabled.

    If the VidyoRoom is busy in a call at the time of a scheduled commit, then the commit will initiate after the call ends. Additionally, if the VidyoRoom is occupied with a long duration call, then one or more scheduled commits may be skipped; however, one commit will be initiated after the call ends.



  7. Enable Write Protection Mode to prevent Windows corruption if necessary:
    • Click Enable.
    • Click Yes in the Reboot Required pop-up that displays.

      UpdatingFirmware_4.png

      The system reboots. In order for the reboot process to fully complete, you are not allowed to click the Enable button more than once.

    The Write Protection Mode field does not appear for the Iron Bow vCLINIC. If you have an Iron Bow vCLINIC, your screen will look as shown here:

    FirmwareNoWriteProt.jpg



  8. Upload a new Installer file if necessary:
    • Click the blue triangle next to the words Upload Installer.
    • Click Choose File and choose the Installer file that you want to upload.
    • Click Upload Installer.

    To upload a new installer, Write Protection Mode must be disabled. For more information about Write Protection Mode, see step 7 above as well as the Using Write Protection Mode section.



  9. Upload a new Certificate file if necessary:
    • Click the blue triangle next to the words Upload Certificate if necessary.
    • Select the Clear Existing Certificate Store checkbox if you want to clear the existing certificate upon uploading the new one.
      • If you select this checkbox, only the new certificate bundle will be effective.
      • If you do not select this checkbox, the new certificate will be appended to the one that already exists for the VidyoRoom system.
        Appending is limited to the current session of the system image. That is, if you ever need to re-image the system, only the latest certificate file uploaded via the Admin UI will then be effective and any other previously appended certificates will not be preserved.
      • The default is that this checkbox is unselected; therefore, the new certificate will be appended to the existing one.
    • Click Browse to browse to the Certificate file that you want to upload.
    • Click Upload Certificate.

    As soon as the certificate is uploaded, the system will reboot. You cannot cancel the reboot once it begins.

 

Using Write Protection Mode

When Write Protection Mode is enabled, all configuration changes and new logs are kept in a cache. Logs are automatically saved to the hard drive at 2:00AM daily, or upon restarting the VidyoRoom system. If your VidyoRoom system loses power prior to the next commit, all logs that have not been saved will be lost. Additionally, configuration files will not be saved and the system will restart with the previously saved configuration before Write Protection Mode was enabled.

For more information about restarting the VidyoRoom system, see Shutting Down.

If the VidyoRoom system attempts to download a new Installer from the VidyoPortal but there is not enough room in the write cache (93 MB for 32-bit systems and 154 MB for 64-bit systems), the VidyoRoom will not download the Installer. Instead, it will continue to check every three hours, and it will download the Installer when there is enough room.

Additionally, when Write Protection is enabled, the log files are named as follows: VidyoRoom.0 – VidyoRoom.9. The limitation on the file size is 110 MB. Therefore, when the log file size reaches this level or upon restarting the VidyoRoom system, a new log file is created.

Lastly, when Write Protection Mode is enabled, a message appears at the top of every page of the Admin UI indicating that Write Protection Mode is enabled.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.